Friday, March 23, 2012

"Five Cardinal Points" - "Cardinal directions" 青

Far East


Dynastic Chinese culture and some other Central Asian cultures view the center as a fifth principal direction hence the English translated term "Five Cardinal Points". Where it is different than the west, is that the term is used as a foundation for I Ching, the Wu Xing and the five Naked-eye planets.

In traditional Chinese astronomy, the zodiacal belt is divided into the four constellation groups corresponding to the four cardinal directions.

Each direction is often identified with a color, and (at least in China) with a mythological creature of that color. Geographical or ethnic terms may contain the name of the color instead of the name of the corresponding direction.[10][11] These traditions were also carried west by the westward migration of the Turkic peoples.

East: Green ( "qīng" corresponds to both green and blue); Spring; Wood

Qingdao (Tsingtao) "Green Island": a city on the east coast of China

South: Red; Summer; Fire

Red River (Asia): south of China

West: White; Autumn; Metal

White Sheep Turkmen
Belarus (literally "White Russia"), according to one of the theories is the name given to the Western Rus by the Mongols

North: Black; Winter; Water

Heilongjiang "Black Dragon River" province in Northeast China, also the Amur River
Kara-Khitan Khanate "Black Khitans" who originated in Northern China

Center: YellowEarth

Huangshan "Yellow Mountain" in central China
Golden Horde: "Central Army" of the Mongols

In the Chinese martial arts, imagery of the Five Animals (Chinese五形

pinyinwǔ xíng; literally "Five Forms")—

No comments: