Friday, July 13, 2012

Nephew announces candidacy for Seneca presidency

Skip to Main Navigation

'; if ( { $("#weather-icon").attr("src", ""; $("#weather-temp").html( + "°"); } //]]>


Skip to Main Content

    • Advertisement

    micro bar
  • -->
  • Worship with Us
  • Business
  • Opinion
  • -->
  • Deaths
  • Multimedia
  • Interactives
  • -->
  • AP Video
  • Reader Services
  • -->
  • Buffalo News Store
  • Contact Us
  • Nephew announces candidacy for Seneca presidency

    Updated: July 12, 2012, 3:33 PM

    Seneca Nation Council Chairman Richard E. Nephew, a longtime Council member of the Seneca Nation of Indians, announced today his entry into the race for the nation’s presidency.

    Current Seneca Nation President Robert Odawi Porter endorsed Nephew and announced his own candidacy for nation treasurer.

    Nephew is in his 14th year on Council, and has been elected to four consecutive four-year terms as Councilor from the Cattaraugus Territory. He has served as Council chair for six years. 

    “For 14 years I have served the Seneca people with foremost focus on protecting our treaty rights, protecting our sovereignty and have worked to defend our lands and economic interests,” Nephew said in a statement. “To be sure, it has been nothing but an uphill battle with outside entities – from the state, the feds, and big tobacco. We must continue to move the Seneca Nation forward on a positive course. I am wholly dedicated to ensuring the economic strength of the Seneca Nation, to further diversifying our businesses and to protecting trade and commerce.”

    “Richard Nephew is just the kind of leader the Seneca Nation needs,” Porter said. “He is tempered, not temperamental. Richard is characteristically thoughtful and rational, not irrational and reactionary. I am happy to lend my support to Richard Nephew’s candidacy for president as he is the best candidate.”

    The Seneca Nation government consists of the executive office that includes the president, the treasurer and the clerk; a 16-member legislative body of Councilors – eight from each territory, and the judicial branch. The Seneca presidency is a two-year term that rotates every two years between the Cattaraugus and Allegany territory. The Seneca Constitution does not allow the president to hold consecutive terms. Councilors hold four-year staggered terms, with no term limits.

    The Seneca election will be held on Nov. 6.



    There are no comments on this story.


  • " + "
  • Most Viewed

    Newsroom Tips

    Have a news tip you think The Buffalo News should investigate?

    Call The News tip line at 849-4475 or email us at

    All calls and emails will be kept confidential.


    Company Info


    Copyright 1999 - 2012 - The Buffalo News copyright-protected material.

    © 2012 The Buffalo News. The information you receive online from The Buffalo News is protected by the copyright laws of the United States.

    The copyright laws prohibit any copying, redistributing, re-transmitting, or re-purposing of any copyright-protected material.

    No comments: